Dragon Logo Bardsong Press


A Land Beyond Ravens
Book 4 of the Macsen's Treasure Series
by Kathleen Cunningham Guler

Awards for

WINNER of the 2010 Colorado Book Award
in Historical Fiction

Finalist in the National Best Books 2009 Awards,
sponsored by USA Book News

Second Place in Fiction in the 2010 "Evvy" Awards,
sponsored by the Colorado Independent Publishers Association

Winner in the Historical Fiction category
in the 2010 National Indie Excellence Awards

  A Land Beyond Ravens      


ISBN-13: 9780966037166
ISBN-10: 0966037162
Hardcover ~ 384 pages ~ $25.95

Order this book

available from:
Amazon.com's Kindle store
Other ebook formats from Smashwords.com

Book description:

No one in 5th century Britain knows more secrets than master spy Marcus ap Iorwerth, and that makes him a dangerous man. It also makes him a hunted one. For nearly three decades he has manipulated stubborn, irascible kings and warlords in swiss replica watches a quest to not only unite them against foreign invasion but to stop them from destroying each other as well. And along with his beloved wife Claerwen, he has followed a greater, even more perilous pursuit—to forge a clear path for the fulfillment of Merlin the Enchanter’s famed prophecy that one day a great king will take command, the king known as Arthur of the Britons.

 Now, with Arthur at last on the brink of adulthood and already showing great promise as a leader, Marcus discovers that the emerging Christian church is rolex replica watchesgaining enough power to dangerously shift control of Britain. At the same time Claerwen, gifted with second sight, is plagued with strange dreams that connect inexplicable doom to both Arthur and a long lost grail sacred to Britain’s high kings. As foreboding mounts, Marcus struggles to prevent the church from crushing Arthur’s chances of becoming an effective king. But how he goes about it sets up the very doom that Claerwen sees. Will she be able to stop him? Or will her visions send Marcus to his own doom as well?

A Land Beyond Ravens is a tale filled with haunting memories, honor, courage, and dreams lost and won. Interweaving the history of Dark Age Britain with its mystical Celtic roots and Arthurian legend, it is the compelling final chapter of uk replica watchesthe multi-award winning Macsen’s Treasure Series that includes Into the Path of Gods, In the Shadow of Dragons and The Anvil Stone.



"...intriguing and suspenseful..."
Sharon Kay Penman, author of
Here Be Dragons and Falls the Shadow

"...intricately crafted language alive with authentic detail..."
—Jen Delyth - artist and author of
Celtic Folk Soul, Art, Myth and Symbol

"...fast-paced and surprising..."
—Mark Adderley, author of
The Hawk and the Wolf

Acclaim for
A Land Beyond Ravens:

“…one of the most historically realistic Arthurian novels ever written, a thoroughly mature work that belongs beside such classics as Rosemary Sutcliffe’s Sword at Sunset and Mary Stewart’s Merlin trilogy.” 

 “…Guler possesses a particular gift of blending history, adventure, mystery and passionate love into a story so
engaging that one can’t stop reading…” 
—Crystal Reviews

 “…well written and a great read…”
—TCM Reviews


 “If you enjoy one book in this
Macsen’s Treasure Series, Merlin
himself couldn’t stop you from
hunting up the rest.”
—Feathered Quill Reviews


 “Guler’s imaginative and dynamic
storytelling helps fill a gap
in the corpus of Holy Grail fiction…
a thoughtful and compelling voice.”
—US Review of Books


 “Guler writes with a strong voice
and vibrant prose… a master
at creating unique,
unusual characters…”
—Historical Novel Review